hardware and software for electronic music 
Mon, Sep 23, 2013, 12:51

Decibel 2013, Kaivo sneak preview

People showing stuff last year at Decibel. Photographer unknown.

This year at Decibel Festival I'll be teaming up with my friend James Patrick of Dubspot and Ableton to talk a little about modular synthesis software, and give a sneak preview of Kaivo, my new physical modeling synthesizer. I’ve been working on Kaivo for almost two years now. Kaivo brings Aalto’s ease of patching to a new set of modules based around physical modeling. I'm excited to show off its interface and a few of the new sonic possibilities it offers.

I’m also very excited to be part of a panel with other instrument makers from Monome and Livid Instruments. The panel is called "New Media Hardware Platforms and Communities." We’ll discuss what the current landscape of hardware from independent makers looks like, what it’s like to be one of these independent makers, and what unique possibilities this activity of locally sourced, community-focused hardware design offers culturally and musically. And what lies ahead? Please come share your thoughts.

Brian and Kelli of Monome will also be on hand to reveal Aleph, the new music hardware that they have made in collaboration with Ezra Buchla. I know a lot of people are anticipating this one!

My session with James Patrick will be Friday at noon at Broadway Performance Hall. The Monome presentation and new hardware panel will be Thursday afternoon. Times of some of the conference programs are still shifting, so please check the Decibel Conference Program for more info and breaking news.

Mon, Sep 23, 2013, 14:34

Kaivo!! Many congratulations Randy. Having a hard time waiting for this one.

Wonderful name for the new synth too - I'm not even gonna say what my guess was but it was way off.

EDIT: looked up "kaivo" and a few of its anagrams... You win! Probably the best instrument name, ever.

Mon, Sep 23, 2013, 14:38

Many good news those days, Kaivo and Aleph will be great new products I'm sure of that ! I've finally decide to also buy an MTRX-8 a weeks ago, seems to be a product in the same "vibes", have to wait one month too.. time to find more cash.. ;-)

wish you the best for Kaivo Randy !

Mon, Sep 23, 2013, 15:57

The Finnish for 'well' is what I was going for, as in a deep well of sounds. When you hear it, I hope you’ll agree!

Tue, Sep 24, 2013, 01:39

Exciting news! Will there be an online stream of your presentation maybe?

Tue, Sep 24, 2013, 13:06

I don’t think there will be stream You could check out the Decibel Festival site for video after the fact. In any case, I will post more info about Kaivo soon.

Wed, Sep 25, 2013, 12:54

Hmm, I suspect that the Kaivo GUI panel looks like the white panel in the right of this photo...

Thu, Sep 26, 2013, 04:20

Stream http://dbfestival.com/news/streaming-db-conference-panopto

Thu, Sep 26, 2013, 13:40

yes, really cool to see Randy talking about soundplane right now ;-)

Fri, Sep 27, 2013, 06:17

kaivo today~

Fri, Sep 27, 2013, 19:06

Had a fun time showing the new baby off in the green room at Decibel. I will make a screencast video preview very soon!

Sat, Sep 28, 2013, 07:04

It was nice to see you talking about the soundplane randy

I can't wait to see what kaivo can do

Sat, Sep 28, 2013, 15:41

Really excited to see some video

Sat, Sep 28, 2013, 17:29

Maybe if we all keep refreshing this page every five minutes hoping for more news, everything will happen faster.

Oh wait, we were all doing that anyway. And if you're a REAL addict, you've got the muffwiggler Kaivo thread open too, just to be safe.

Sat, Sep 28, 2013, 21:39

I'll put together a preview for the Intertubes early next week. This weekend there are a ton of friends in town for Decibel, and I need a couple of days off! Thanks for your patience :-)

Sun, Sep 29, 2013, 01:24

here the second conference http://decibel.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer/Default.aspx?id=2c983d85-06fa-4ca3-a33b-e323fe8e9a92

2 minutes with no sounds but a lot of fun and a scoop, will be Green !;-)

Sun, Sep 29, 2013, 15:21

Sure enough there is some nice discussion over at the muffwiggler thread.

Tue, Oct 01, 2013, 23:52

very exciting ... looking forward to the preview video Randy!

Wed, Oct 02, 2013, 09:13

Looking forward to this! 6-8 weeks ship eh..

Any details on pricing would be appreciated so I can save up :)

Sat, Oct 05, 2013, 05:38

Awesome! Can't to see and hear this new baby in action. I have my credit card next to my pillow. :)

Sun, Oct 06, 2013, 01:17

Yes, yes!

Looking forward to the preview video.

I love my Korg Prophecy! and I love Aalto! So, I'm super stoked to hear, play this one!!

Question: Was the Prophecy, the Yamaha VL-1 or any other (of the very few) physical modelling synths or softsynths of the past a source of inspiration for your software design for Kaivo?

Sun, Oct 06, 2013, 09:18

I have definitely listened to the demos of those instruments closely, but I'm not really headed the same way---you won’t hear an attempt to make a sax sound in Kaivo, for example. A bigger influence has been the academic work of Julius Smith, Perry Cook, Stefan Bilbao and others.

I spent most of the day yesterday wrestling with my screen capture program on my new Mac. I think I'm good to go now so I should have something up today or tomorrow.

Sun, Oct 06, 2013, 10:09

sweet! looking forward to the preview :)

Sun, Oct 06, 2013, 23:44

first one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiT117i6YnE

;-)

Mon, Oct 07, 2013, 01:04

Sold! :)

Mon, Oct 07, 2013, 04:56

gimme!

Mon, Oct 07, 2013, 07:05

So, i just saw Kaivo preview and i just want to buy it! 'm sorry, I did not notice the approximate date of release (?).

Mon, Oct 07, 2013, 14:43

Wow!

The demo looks beautiful!

Can't wait to play this Randy!